Psychics, political prisoners and knitting

I have always believed in that there is something powerful and healing about knitting and spinning. I had been nursing some wacky pie-in-the-sky ideas about buying a bunch of spinning wheels and teaching children or inmates how to spin. I don’t know why I was thinking about these two groups, but I’ll leave the analysis to others.

Then, I went to see a psychic who told me about this new book, The Lighter Side of Robben Island. Robben Island was a notorious prison where Nelson Mandela and other political prisoners were incarcerated during South Africa’s apartheid. In this book, there is a chapter devoted to how some of the prisoners knitted to stave off boredom and keep their minds agile.

I never mentioned my crazy idea to the psychic. But I think it is a sign… of something.

Find out more about the book at the BBC website.

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/world-africa-21595857

Leave a Reply

