I am a Spinner

IMG_4562

IMG_4552     IMG_4566     IMG_4536

(Nest Fiber Studio, “Sera” in BFL, 2-ply)

I am paid for my writing, but I would not call myself a writer.  I am an academic, but I don’t identify as one. I am a mom, wife, daughter, sister, and friend, but I am not only these things. My reluctance to take on titles, however, does not extend to spinning. Even though I have only been spinning for a little over a year, and my spinning range is stuck between fine and a little less fine, I am a spinner.

It’s strange to think that spinning has only been a part of my life for such a short time. Even V was surprised that it was only last November that I got my first spinning wheel. I spin virtually every day, and I can feel my fingers becoming restless if I don’t spin.

I can’t fully explain the joy of the filaments between my fingers but I love how the slightest pressure can change the thickness of the yarn.  Judith Mackenzie McCuin has described spinning as letting water flow through your fingers, and there is something about letting go and giving in that her description captures. You can’t work the fiber too hard and control does not come from force.

There is still so much to learn, but I am at home in being a spinner. There is magic in treadling, attenuation and setting twist.

IMG_4639

(Nest Fiber Studio, “Freedom Child” in Superwash Merino, 2-ply)

IMG_4663

(Lone Star Arts, “Cheshire Cat” in BFL, 2-ply)

6 thoughts on “I am a Spinner

  1. Gorgeous spins, especially love that one up top. I love being a spinner, too. While demonstrating it to a pre-k class last year, I verbalized that learning to spin “felt like coming home”.

    • I knew that there was something about your writing that resonated! One of the first things that struck me and I really liked was your blog name. Funny thing about spinning–I didn’t know I was lost until I came home.

  2. And you are a fine writer too, young lady, even if you don’t call yourself one. I’ve been away from your blog for a while, and very much enjoyed catching up today. Laughed out loud at the Foucault/Knitting book comparison. Loved the photos of the family, and glimpses of the yarn fairs!

    • Thank you for the compliments! You are one of the few people who really knew me when I was truly a young lady so this means a lot.

Leave a Reply

