Reversible Stitch

IMG_7686

I am so in love with this stitch pattern, and my mind is abuzz dreaming about the different variations and permutations possible. The pattern looks a bit like a cable but it’s not, and the fact that it’s reversible and incredibly adaptable makes me eager to experiment.

Here’s Lynne Barr’s Reversible Knitting book. She calls this stitch pattern “folded fabric” and I’ve heard it called a “scrunch stitch pattern.” Either way, it’s essentially a knitted rib (width of your choice) in which you bring up the stitches that are a few rows down and on the wrong side to knit together with current stitches.

IMG_7689

Here’s a good photo demonstration of this stitch, and you can see that the purl stitches on the back end are folded up and knitted together with the live stitches.

IMG_7692

Eunny Jung, former editor of Interweave Knits Magazine has a wonderful video in which she explains this stitch:

Whereas Jung describes a particular formula for the scrunch stitch, Barr demonstrates the variety possible when you play with the width of the ribbed columns as well as where in the previously knitted rows you choose to join your current live stitches.

This scarf is inspired by Cheryl Beckerich’s waved wrap. For my version, I knitted 5 repeats of a 6 by 6 rib, meaning that I [knitted 6, purled 6] five times, and I had a 4-stitch border on either side. I also brought up the purl stitches from 6 rows down. And as you can see in the photo from Barr’s book, this is a very textured pattern. I was tempted to leave mine unblocked because of the amazing undulating ridges, but I decided to block it in the end to highlight the delicate halo of the BFL/silk blend from Wooly Wonka. As you can see, the unblocked and blocked scarf are like two totally different scarves.

IMG_7574

IMG_7684

IMG_7688

I’ve got another project that I’m currently trying to finish, but after that, I’m going to be happily swatching.

7 thoughts on “Reversible Stitch

  1. So cool! I’ve got to try this soon… thanks for sharing! I love how the simplest techniques in knitting can make such a difference in the finished product…So much room for creativity.

  2. Thank you for this! I was debating buying the Knit.Wear issue for this pattern alone, but I’d much rather get a copy of Reversible Knitting as I think I’d use that more. -TobyKnits on Ravelry

    • You’re welcome, Toby! I would agree that Reversible Knitting is the book to get. And once you see how this stitch pattern is constructed, you can reproduce the pattern easily or modify it. And, with all the other reversible patterns in this book, it’s quite fun to explore all the possibilities. 🙂

      • Thanks for mentioning my book. I love that you see the stitch pattens in Reversible Knitting as a starting point to explore possibilities.

      • You’re welcome, and thanks for dropping a note! I love your book. Thank you for such a imaginative, inspirational and informative book! It is a fantastic starting point for endless creative possibilities.

Leave a Reply

