Moonrover Magic

IMG_7509

If ever there is doubt about the magic of spinning, then all you need is to spin one of these batts from Lacey Ziemkiewicz of Moonrover to become a believer. The layers of color are painterly, like an abstracted landscape rolled up into a cloud. You can already see the little flicker of glitter and the surprise of nubby gems in the photo above. What you can’t appreciate unless you are at the spinning wheel is how these treasures reveal themselves in the process of attenuation and twist and transform into an unexpected whirl of colors and textures.

I’m not kidding when I say I get giddy from awe when I spin these batts.

IMG_8415

These batts are from the November 2013 Batt Club, which sadly is no more. I like clubs because I can rely on the regularity of surprises. Though Lacey has ended the Batt Club, there are the occasional sightings of batts on Moonrover’s site if you’re lucky.

And if you’re one of those people who likes to pull back the curtain to see the magician’s secrets, Lacey has an article in the Winter 2013 issue of PLY Magazine, in which she demonstrates how to card striped batts. (In that same issue which explores woolen spinning, you can also see swatches of Moonrover batts spun in a variety of ways.)

IMG_8413

Each batt is .5 0z, and I spun the batts one at a time, beginning from the same end. I then chain-plied it to get 227 yards/208 meters.

I don’t have a project in mind for this skein, but whatever it is, it is going to be for me me me.

2 thoughts on “Moonrover Magic

  1. Oh I love it! That looks super fun to spin! I really want to get a blending board someday, so I can make rolags like that myself. Can’t wait to see what you make with it!

    • Thanks! It was super fun to spin! I want to get a blending board or even a carder (dreaming!) someday too. I’m also daydreaming about weaving these days as well. Serious trouble ahead… for V, that is! 🙂

Leave a Reply

