Pulling out the knits

We had a nice sunny but cold spell in Portland recently so I took advantage of this anomalous weather to take photos of knits I finished back a while back. (As a side note, we’re back to wet, cold and grey so everything is right in the world again.) I tried cajoling Little A to stay still. Taking photos of this little ham is a crap shoot. One minute she’s smiling, laughing and pulling out her moves. The next minute it’s meltdown. IMG_4725

IMG_4727

IMG_4712

IMG_4705   IMG_4704   IMG_4703

IMG_4718   IMG_4717   IMG_4721

The top-down cardigan, Hibbis, is a test knit, but the testing process was less about pattern modification and suggestions so much as it was about identifying grammatical errors in the translation from French to English. I was really drawn to this pattern because I liked the simple lace flowers at the yoke. But now that I’ve knitted it, I would definitely recommend modifying this pattern. The collar is too wide and keeps slipping off Little A’s narrow shoulders. Not only would I cast on fewer stitches for the collar, but that would have allowed me to raise the collar and give me space to have another row of the lace pattern. For Little A’s sizing, there were only two rows of this lace, which which seem a bit off balance to me. I like my patterns to fall on odd numbers. Despite the loose collar, Little A loves this sweater, which is knitted in Cascade 220″Fuschia.” This just goes to show at the end of the day, the wearer’s opinion counts the most.

The squishy cowl she is wearing is knitted from handspun superwash merino from Nest Fiber Studio. The colorway is “London Jupiter.” This was a fun and easy knit to show off handspun yarn. It is an easily adaptable pattern for children and adults. And as the name of this pattern highlights, it is really squishy. I got these darling buttons from Mom’s Buttons.

IMG_7463

IMG_7017IMG_6975

What can I say? I love Nest Fiber.

 

 

 

 

 

 

6 thoughts on “Pulling out the knits

    • Thanks!! The squishy cowl is great, and I think I might make one for myself soon. It’s easy and satisfying to knit. The sweater taunts me a little as I’m a perfectionist and every time it slips of Little A’s shoulder, something in me winces a little. One of these days, I might try undoing the collar and reknit it. Otherwise it is a really darling sweater.

      I love knitting for Little A, but she’s a moody model! I take what I can get! 🙂

    • Yes, she is a cheeky monkey! 🙂 I don’t know where she gets her moves, but when the camera comes out, she turns it on.

Leave a Reply

