Storytime sweater

For the past couple of weeks, V has been reading Harry Potter to Little A and me. We started with The Sorcerer’s Stone and then burned through The Chamber of Secrets. Little A draws while I knit. I can’t imagine life being better than this.  And, if there’s one thing that V loves it is having a captive audience for his various British accents. He got into the character of Gilderoy Lockhart with a gusto that was both hilarious and slightly disturbing. After dinner, he would ask casually “So, shall we read Harry Potter?” so as to downplay the fact that out of the three of us, he’s probably J.K. Rowling’s biggest fan. He just happens to be very late to the party. (Those of you who have read more than a few of my blog entries will have noticed that we’re still living like it’s 1999.)

During our Harry Potter story time, I’ve been test knitting another pattern by Tin Can Knits, a lovely cabled cardigan that is full of texture and density. With its old school styling, this cardigan might easily have been a pattern from The Unofficial Harry Potter Knits. This is going to be a Christmas sweater for Little A.

IMG_4943

IMG_4940

IMG_4938

I’m really enjoying this knit, and this pattern is fun and easy to memorize. The moss stitches and cables are a nice change from the all the stockinette I’ve been knitting.  As much as I love knitting with handspun yarn, the ones that I’m often drawn to are colorful and barber pole-y, and they would have competed with the textures of a pattern like this.

IMG_4936

IMG_4923

I’m using Hazel Knits DK Lively in “Cherry Fizz.” As you can see, it has wonderful stitch definition and lovely depth of color. Hazel Knits is based out of Seattle, and I found these skeins at Twisted. Little A chose the color. It is 90% wool and 10% nylon which I think will add durability and help retain shape, or at least I hope so. The sweater is going to be quite heavy because though the recommended yarn for this pattern is a DK yarn, this particular yarn is a heavy DK and I had to go down three needle sizes from the recommended needle size to get gauge. I have a feeling that this sweater is going to stretch and lengthen because of its weight, but I’m hoping the nylon will offset this a bit.

 

4 thoughts on “Storytime sweater

  1. OMG, that is too funny about V doing British accents while reading Harry Potter. We do the same thing in our house! I love to read books written by British authors for the same excuse. Mae just started The Sorcerer’s Stone for the first time. It’ll be interesting to see if she loves them as much as Jonah did.

    I love that cable and moss stitch pattern! I really can’t get enough of cables in any form, they are so timeless and adaptable. I can’t wait to see it when it’s finished!

    • Ha ha! That’s so funny. Maybe we should all get together to knit, spin and read harry Potter!! We just hit some scary parts and Little A is feeling the need for a break. Both V and I keep trying to convince her otherwise. V actually mentioned that he was feeling a bit grumpy because of Harry Potter withdrawal.

      I love cables too. I am practicing with this pattern in preparation to try out some of the Brooklyn Tweed patterns which feature a lot of cables. I’m looking forward to getting this sweater done soon!

  2. A little stretching in a kid’s sweater isn’t always a bad thing–they grow so quickly! My grandmother made my mother a green sweater: first she had to make it longer because she took too long to finish it, so it was a year later that my mother received it. My mother hated it, first hoping that it would never be finished, then once it was completed, she hoped she would grow out of it quickly. Sadly for her, that sweater grew and grew, right along with her, for several years!

    • Thank you for visiting and for your comment! I love the image of your mother trying to escape this sweater that was growing right along with her. It so aptly describes hand-knitted items in that it is made with love and injected with a kind of life and energy that you can’t find in store-bought items. Hand-knits sometimes have a life of their own!

      Yes, I’m banking on this sweater growing with her. I spent too long knitting it for her to outgrow it! I want it to grow along with her too! 🙂

Leave a Reply

