Christmas Felted Soaps

Now that Christmas is over, it’s safe to start posting some Christmas gifts. One project that we will definitely be making again is felted soap. Little A and I made these soaps for the teachers and staff at her school.

IMG_5123

IMG_5148

IMG_5122

IMG_5127

IMG_5116

IMG_5110

IMG_5114

IMG_5111

These soaps were felted with a combination of natural corriedale from Paradise Fibers, pink and orange merino from Opulent Fibers, and some unnamed fiber that came with the spinning wheel I purchased off of craigslist. I suspect it’s one of Ashland Bay Company’s multi-colored merino. What I love about this multi-colored merino are the stands of color surprise. The top was kind of brown but once it was separated and felted, you could see how the color was produced through the layer of multiple colors.

These rounded soaps from Sappo Hill were the perfect size for a soap felting project as it fit comfortably in our hands as we rubbed and scrubbed the fiber to make it felt.

I followed instructions from Thistlewood Farms, which comes fabulous instructive photos.

IMG_5132

IMG_5130

I think some of the soaps could have been rubbed for a bit longer to make sure the fibers really locked in together. And I would certainly recommend over-doing it rather than under-doing it. I was worried with all the lathering that my soap was shrinking under the felt. It seemed that there was a lot of room between the soap and the wool and that the felt would never shrink and tighten around the soap, as described by KariAnne of Thistlewood Farm. But when it dried, it tightened nicely around the soap so I was anxious for nothing. I guess I still need to learn to trust the process.

What I would try next time is setting up two basins of water, one super and one super cold. Part of the reason that wool felts, in addition to the friction that is necessary to lock the fibers together, is a sudden shift in temperature. I am hoping that in putting the wool-covered soap in the hot and then cold basins back and forth for a few times, this would cut down on the scrubbing that was necessary to felt the fiber. That scrubbing was the most tedious, and Little A grew tired of that quickly so I had to pick up the slack! Aside from that, this was the perfect project for us to do together!

IMG_5137

4 thoughts on “Christmas Felted Soaps

    • Thank you for visiting and for the compliment! You definitely have to give it a try! Felted soaps are like soap and exfoliating washcloths in one.

  1. They turned out so beautifully, and look especially lovely photographed on the greenery. What a great gift idea! I’ve already stolen An’s… the merino is so soft, and I’m a sucker for anything almond scented… yum!

    • Thank you! They turned out better than I thought. I was worried they’d be a wet, baggy mess, but once they dried, the colors came together and the felted wool tightened around the soaps.

      I’m so glad that you are enjoying it! We had a great time making it, and I’m also a sucker for anything almond!

Leave a Reply

